Whole30

Whole30 Observations Day 10

Day 10.  January 13, 2016 “The Hardest Days” pt.1

4:15 AM.  Up and at ’em!  Courtesy of my good friend, the alarm clock.  2 cups of black coffee.

5:45 AM.  A nice breakfast of 3 mini frittatas, ground beef hash and 1/2 an avocado.  Made myself a large cup of tea for the road.

“The Hardest Days”: Nope, not getting tired of this breakfast at all.

10:00 AM.  Eating my carrots and celery.  Glad I brought them with me for a quick jobsite visit because I’m going to be spending more time here than expected.

11:30 AM.  Back at the office and eating my albondigas.  So glad there was enough left over for lunch today.  Went to use the microwave in the break room, and lo and behold, there’s a giant Tupperware full of carrot cake squares.  Nothing to see here, folks.  Move along…  Funny, I really wasn’t “tempted” by the carrot cake.  I mean, I looked at it.  It was there.  I didn’t dwell on it for the 3 minutes it took to reheat my delicious soup.  It didn’t scream my name or anything… it’s like it doesn’t even miss me!

4:00 PM.  Devoured my apples on the drive home.  Got back to the house and made myself a cappuccino with Silk almond milk.  It’s not bad!Cappuccino

Crave notes:  Funny conversations taking place daily between Jane and I concerning what foods we miss or crave or what we are going to reintroduce into our diets first.  With the albondigas, it’s rice.  Plain white rice.  A scoop of rice into the bowl before serving up the soup.  And milk.  Whole milk for the coffee drinks.  This drink would have only had 4 ounces of milk total, so that’s not too bad.  But you know what?  I can wait.  I’m actually enjoying all of the new taste experiences with trying new/different things.

“The Hardest Days”: Maybe.  Let’s see what tomorrow brings…

5:30 PM.  We’re having spaghetti with meat sauce (or Spaghetti Bolognese for you fancy folk).  I’m giving Zoodles a try for the first time – that’s zucchini noodles, just in case you’ve never heard of them.  “But Rick, how do you make these things?”  Glad you asked!  Our son won a Dash Rapid Peeler / Spiralizer  a couple of months back.  Jane used it when she did her first Whole30 last October.  I really don’t remember trying them, though.

Spag 2

So check out this deliciousness.  Pretty darn tasty.  The spiralizer cuts the zucchini the same size as regular spaghetti, but some of the noodles (Zoodles) are really long.  This was a hit and I would definitely like to try a few more recipes using these crazy Zoodles.

9:00 PM.  Bed.

Return to Day 9 or Continue to Day 11

Standard

2 thoughts on “Whole30 Observations Day 10

  1. Pingback: Whole30 Observations Day 11 | funwithrickandjane

  2. Pingback: #whole30 observations | funwithrickandjane

Leave a comment