Whole30

Life 79 Days After My Whole30

Thursday, April 21, 2016. Whole30 plus 79 days of Clean Eating.  Mostly.

4:15 AM.  Alarm.  Awake.  2 cups of black coffee.

5:45 AM.  Breakfast.  Encore!  Ground beef hash with sweet potatoes; veggie mix (summer squash, butternut squash, zucchini, red and green bell peppers, and mushrooms) scrambled with a cup of egg whites.   And a half teaspoon of bee pollen.

BFast 4_21_16

Fully Compliant

I made a little travel mug of green tea for the morning sipping session.  I was still a little mad about forgetting my big travel mug yesterday.  However, as of this afternoon, order has been restored in the universe.  My big travel mug is back in its place.

1:30 PM.  Lunch.  I really have to stop doing this.  Sometimes you get so busy and you can’t stop and have a proper lunch break.  Slave to the dollar, I guess. I had a great green salad with avocado and roasted chicken breast, threw down my carrots and celery, and chased it all with my apple slices.

Lunch 4_21_16

Fully Compliant

Fully compliant truck salad, served on the center console of my truck.  You know, in some places you have to pay more for a salad served like this.  Ambiance ain’t free, ya know.

4:00 PM.  Snack.  A double shot of espresso.  Followed with a double shot of espresso.

Espresso

Fully Compliant

OK, I have to write about this.  I’m not in any way, shape or form a coffee snob.  We have everything in our house from Starbuck’s Caffe Verona grind for the morning pot, to some pretty exotic single origin 96 rated top shelf stuff.  We really like our coffee.  Anyway, I keep seeing this Medaglia D’Oro espresso in the grocery store, and it’s really inexpensive.  So instead of thinking “How good can this coffee be at that price?”, I thought “Hey, if it’s really bad, I’ll put it in our vermicomposter.  The worms love coffee!”  So we bought some to try.  And yeah, this ‘bargain brand’ of espresso is actually quite good.  By good, I mean strong flavor and finish.

Word of advice to anybody doing this Whole30 thing:  Try different coffees and ways to prepare them.  See if any of your local coffee shops offer “cupping”.  Again, I’m not a coffee snob, but I do like a good cuppa Joe.  And, although I post and joke a lot about SWYPO lattes and cappuccinos, we still drink our morning brewed coffee black.  *climbs down from soapbox*

5:00 PM.  Dinner.  Diced medium white potato thrown into the T-Fal ActiFry, some leftover flank steak to make a hash dish, and 3 eggs over easy.

Dinner 4_21_16

Fully Compliant

I haven’t had breakfast for dinner for a long time.

We’ve used the ActiFry more times in the last 2 weeks than we have since we got it as a Christmas gift like 3 years ago.  Quite the White Elephant at the time.  The jury is still out…

Whole30 Observation:  On a totally random, but I digress note: We had asparagus with our dinner last night, which got me thinking about Why Your Pee Smells Funny After Eating Asparagus.  Thanks, Web M.D.!

I have to publish the blog early tonight.  We have a school function that we need to attend, so I need to get out the door.

10:00 PM.  Bed time if we’re lucky.

And so goes Step Four: Life After Your Whole30.  Today was a good day.

Return to Life 78 Days After My Whole30 or Continue to Life 80 Days After My Whole30

Relive my journey from Day 1.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Life 79 Days After My Whole30

  1. Pingback: Life 80 Days After My Whole30 | funwithrickandjane

  2. Pingback: Life 78 Days After My Whole30 | funwithrickandjane

Leave a Reply

