Whole30

Life 68 Days After My Whole30

Sunday, April 10, 2016. Whole30 plus 68 days of Clean Eating.  Mostly.

Let’s see what today brings…

6:00 AM.  Jane’s alarm.  She’s volunteering with C5 again today, and today is an actual surgery clinic day where the vet’s are performing the spay/neuter procedures on the feral cats that have been trapped the past few weeks.  So she’s going to be busy!  Back to sleep for me.  I had a late night/early morning just a few short hours ago…

8:00 AM.  Awake.  2 cups of black coffee.

9:00 AM.  Breakfast.  I sliced-up last nights leftover baked potato and browned it in some olive oil, warmed 2 Aidells Chicken and Apple sausages, and had 3 over-easy eggs.  Delicious.

BFast 4_10_16

Fully Compliant

 

After breakfast, I brewed up a big mug of Dragonwell green teaHOLY COW!!!  After searching for this product to link up to it, who knew this stuff was that expensive?!?!?!  Anyway, for Christmas and my birthday the past couple of years, I’ve been getting some pretty interesting teas (and wines.  but we’re not talking about that here).  I need to move this tea over to the “Fancy Tea” side of the cupboard!  That’s where I keep my “Sipping Tea” separate from my “Chugging Tea”.   It’s really good, though.

Whole30 Observation, and a Clean Eating observation in general:  This is called “The Good And The Bad”.  First, The Good – I/we are very fortunate to live in a large city (in this perspective.  Please don’t ‘Beg To Differ’ with me.  I know, I know!) Las Vegas, Nevada, USA, #30 in the U.S. (if size matters. wink wink) Jeez Louise, I’m digressing all over the place!  Where was I?  Oh, yeah, so as a bonus to living in a city, we have some pretty cool places to shop with some great selections, like Trader Joe’s, Whole Foods; Costco and Sam’s Club also have some pretty good items at really good prices when you find them; we have a pretty good international market; and we have some really good Mexican supermarkets that are close to our house, with THE BEST produce quality, selection and prices.  The Bad – ‘The Best Produce’ implies that we have some sort of produce standard in Las Vegas.  The vast majority of our produce is brought in from California and Mexico, and little to none is actually produced locally.  We have these tiny little organic non-GMO farmer’s markets (read: very expensive), whose produce is sketchy at best, or we get what we get.  Unfortunately, that’s the trade-off.  Big city conveniences versus living in the desert hundreds of miles from where things are grown.

I managed to make it from breakfast to dinner today by having compliant snacks throughout the morning and afternoon –  an apple, pistachios, more coffee and more tea.

6:00 PM.  Dinner.  Grilled ribeye steak, grilled shrimp, and a baked potato with organic grass-fed butter and sour cream:

Dinner 4_19_16

Clean Eating

 

Not a green vegetable anywhere in sight.  We’re going to have to up the green vegetable game.

9:30 PM.  Targeted bed time.

And so goes Step Four: Life After Your Whole30.  Today was a good day.

Return to Life 67 Days After My Whole30 or Continue to Life 69 Days After My Whole30

Relive my journey from Day 1.

 

Standard

2 thoughts on “Life 68 Days After My Whole30

  1. Pingback: Life 69 Days After My Whole30 | funwithrickandjane

  2. Pingback: Life 67 Days After My Whole30 | funwithrickandjane

Leave a Reply

