Whole30

Life 61 Days After My Whole30

Sunday, April 3, 2016. Whole30 plus 61 days of Clean Eating.  Mostly.

Let’s see what today brings:

6:30 AM.  Awake.  It’s good to sleep in.  Sarcasm intended.  Ha!  Jane’s already up and coffee is already made.  Time to drink a few cups of black coffee.

I’m going to continue making beef jerky today, and you’re going to continue to read about it.  Todays jerky is Top Round (which is often labeled as a London Broil for some reason) weighing in at 3.47 lbs (1.57kg), same spices as yesterday, thinly sliced against the grain.  4 full trays on the Nesco dehydrator and about 2 trays worth left over, put back in the fridge for the next run.  This batch sat overnight in the fridge.  Covered, of course.

Wet Marinade 4_3_16

Wet Cure / Marinade

Loaded up the dehydrator.  4 trays worth.  Let ‘er rip!

Loaded 4_3_16

Big Ol’ Slices O’ Meat

Back to check on this in 6 hours or so.  In the mean time, here’s an observation…

Whole30 Observation:  It’s still sugar, thoughI’m not a lawyer, and I’ve also never played one on T.V., but I would like to make this argument about beef jerky, additives, cures, and sugar:

First, it’s preserved or cured meet.  You have to have something as an additive or preservative to keep the jerky from spoiling or growing bacteria.  NOTE:  I also store ALL of my beef jerky in the freezer, and portion it out from there.  Anyway, here’s where Morton’s Tender Quick comes into play.  Ingredients, straight from the horses mouth, and a little side research on my own: salt (79%), the main preserving agent; sugar (20%) , both sodium nitrate and sodium nitrite (1%), which are compliant curing agents that also contribute to development of color and flavor; and propylene glycol (trace) to keep the mixture uniform. Morton Tender Quick is NOT a meat tenderizer, btw.

Next, let’s look at my proportions and do some math from yesterdays jerky making.

I added 2 tablespoons (25 grams) to 2 pounds (907 grams) of ground beef.

Out of the 25 grams of added curing salt, 20% (5 grams) of that is sugar, right?

When the dehydrator was finished doing its thing, I netted 13 ounces (400 grams) of jerky, so just under 41% yield.

So, 5 grams of sugar in 400 grams of jerky equals 0.0125 grams of sugar to 1 gram of jerky, or 1/80th of the product is sugar.

My typical serving size of jerky is 25 grams of cured meat, so I’m getting .3125 total grams of sugar with my snack.  Which equals 1.25 calories.  That’s one hour of blinking my eyes.

Fun Fact:  According to the American Heart Association (AHA), the maximum amount of added sugars you should eat in a day are:  Men: 150 calories per day (37.5 grams or 9 teaspoons). Women: 100 calories per day (25 grams or 6 teaspoons).  Choose whatever site you want.  They all vary, but this site kind of hit the mean average.

I’m not even going to do the math here.  I find the amount of sugar so insignificant, I’m not even going to count it.  OK, I did the math.  0.83% of added sugar per day.  I’m not sweating it.  Then why am I still talking about it?

It’s still sugar, though!  Really?  Really?!?!

10:30.  Brunch.  I guess.  After taking the dogs for a walk, it’s time to get my grub on.  A pile of ground beef hash with white and yellow sweet potatoes and butternut squash, mixed up with the veggie mix of summer squash, butternut squash, zucchini, red and green bell peppers, and mushrooms, and then threw on 3 over easy eggs.

BFast 4_3_16

Fully Compliant

I lost lots of style points on this one because Mr. Fancy-Pants egg flipper (me!) broke the yolk.

2:00 PM.  Snack.  A double shot of espresso with some steamed cashew milk, and a Honey Crisp apple.

Snack 4_3_16

Fully Compliant

5:00 PM.  Dinner.  Protein style hamburger, potato salad and cantaloupe.  I made the potato salad using Jane’s homemade mayo with avocado oil.  It was awesome!

Dinner 4_3_16

Fully Compliant

10:30 PM.  Bed.  Up too late for a night before work the next day.

And so goes Step Four: Life After Your Whole30.  Today was a good day.

Return to Life 60 Days After My Whole30 or Continue to Life 62 Days After My Whole30

Relive my journey from Day 1.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Life 61 Days After My Whole30

  1. Pingback: Life 62 Days After My Whole30 | funwithrickandjane

  2. Pingback: Life 60 Days After My Whole30 | funwithrickandjane

Leave a Reply

