Whole30

Life 56 Days After My Whole30

Tuesday, March 29, 2016. Whole30 plus 56 days of Clean Eating.  Mostly.

Let’s see what today brings:  I will call today “My Second Monday This Week” because…

4:10 AM.  Awake.  Sort of.  You know those times when you wake up and you really don’t want to look at the clock, but then you really do want to look at the clock, so you know how much more sleep you’re going to get?  Then you start thinking – “I’m pretty comfortable, I don’t need to pee, *sneaks a peek with one eye* it’s still dark outside, I’m just going to relax and go back to sleep!”

4:15 AM.  Alarm.  Grrr.  2 cups of black coffee.  AFTER I had to make coffee twice due to the coffee pot having a malfunction.  You know the one:  the filter collapses in on the grounds, the coffee brews, water rises on the grounds, the grounds and water go over the top (or in this case, the side ) of the filter instead of the brewed coffee passing through the filter, the pot gets filled with coffee grounds mud, etc..  Or is it just me?  Get it right the second time, I guess.

5:45 AM.  Breakfast.  This weeks veggie mix of summer squash, butternut squash, zucchini, red and green bell peppers, and mushrooms scrambled with a half cup of egg whites. On the side I had some white and yellow sweet potatoes plus butternut and summer squash mixed with ground beef hash, and a half teaspoon of local bee pollen.

Breakfast 3_29_16

Fully Compliant

You know the drill – I made up a huge mug of white tea for the drive in and office time this morning.

11:00 AM.  Lunch.  I’m having a nice green salad with oil and vinegar dressing, a side of tuna mixed down with homemade avocado oil mayo, and a little bag of plantain chips.  Same as yesterday. Don’t care.  I like it.

Lunch 3_29_16

Fully Compliant

So yeah, my day started with the whole waking up before the alarm nonsense, then the coffee pot malarkey.  What else is going to try to adversely affect my mood today?  Wait for it…wait for it…

4:00 PM.  Dentist!  Yay!  I’m getting my temporary crown replaced with a permanent crown.  Seriously, who says ‘Yay!’ when they’re going to the dentist?  As people in my general vicinity are prone to say – “What the hell is wrong with you?!?!”

Gold Crown

Tooth in a Box.

So, can this day get any better, or what?!?!  Oh yes it can!  So, leaving the dentist office, I start my truck and it’s running like total crap and the Service Engine light is holding it’s own private rave up there on the dash.  I think it was strobing to Steve Aoki or something.  Great.  Off to the shop to have my code read.  Code Red, that’s funny.  Where was I?  OK, so a new ignition coil later (and some other parts thrown in for good measure), I’m back home getting my grub on.

6:00 PM.  Dinner.  Wings, ranch dressing and carrots and celery sticks.

Dinner 3_29_16

These are so good.  Frank’s Red Hot and ghee make the best compliant wing sauce.  And this is one dish where nobody will notice any difference between “real” and “compliant”.  And no SWYPO tag with this.  And I actually prefer the wings made this way.  And are there any English teachers reading this?

Whole30 Observation:  Basic Ranch Recipe from the Whole30 book is winner.  Jane starts with the mayo made from avocado oil.  And it’s good!!!

I’m cracking myself up here, starting sentences with “And.”

Whole30 Tip:  Or should I say #whole30hack?  If I’m satisfied with the way certain products perform or taste or whatever, I’ll try to mention the product by name and provide a link.  This time Jane wants to give you all a tip on using Pompeian Coconut Oil non-stick cooking spray – Don’t use this spray until AFTER you visit their website and make sure you’re not baking anything within the “Smoke Zone”.  Guess what temperature zone the wings were cooked in?  Other than that, we like the product.

9:30 PM.  Targeted bed time.

And so goes Step Four: Life After Your Whole30.  Today was a good day.  See what I mean by today being my second Monday?

Return to Life 55 Days After My Whole30 or Continue to Life 57 Days After My Whole30

Relive my adventure from Day 1.

Standard

6 thoughts on “Life 56 Days After My Whole30

  1. Pingback: Life 57 Days After My Whole30 | funwithrickandjane

    • We just changed up our regular recipe and use either potato flour, potato starch or arrowroot powder to dredge the wings, let them sit covered in the fridge for min. 3 hours, longer if you can, and bake them. Here’s a tip – only sauce the amount you’re going to eat immediately, because the coating will get a little gummy the longer it sits. If you’re serving a group of friends, serve them plain (they stay crispy) and have the sauces on the side.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Life 55 Days After My Whole30 | funwithrickandjane

Leave a Reply

