Whole30

Life 52 Days After My Whole30

Friday, March 25, 2016. Whole30 plus 52 days of Clean Eating.  Mostly.  Today, not so much.

Let’s see what today brings…

4:15 AM.  Alarm.  2 cups of black coffee.

5:45 AM.  Breakfast.  I threw everything together in one pan – the veggie mix of summer squash, zucchini, red and green bell peppers, and mushrooms along with the sweet potato, butternut squash and ground beef hash – and scrambled in a half cup of egg whites.  I kind of went a little crazy with the Tabasco sauce, but it was good!  I also ate a half teaspoon of local bee pollen.

BFast 3_25_16

Fully Compliant

Tabasco Observation:  The order of the universe is out of balance, as is my kitchen feng shui.  Order will not be restored until I have the original Tabasco sauce in the original bottle, and NOT this Super Bowl “Limited Edition” bottle:

Tabasco Bottle

Sorry.  Did I say Super Bowl?  I meant to say “The Big Game”.

I made a big travel mug, again, of green tea to take to work with me.  I have about 100 miles to cover this morning before actually showing up at my office.  If I so choose to show up at my office at all, that is…

11:00 AM.  Lunch.  As I mentioned yesterday, I lost a bet and had to pay up.  The winner of the bet chose a sports bar called “Twin Peaks“.  Now, as much as “Hooters” is about owls, “Twin Peaks” the sports bar is as much about the ’90’s T.V. show “Twin Peaks“.  Euphemisms and double entendres have never been my strong suit.  I said double entendres *snickers like a 13 year old*.

Lunch 3_25_16

Non-Compliant, Non-Paleo, Non Clean Eating.

3 Blackened fish tacos, meaning Cajun seasoning and not Mexican seasoning, tortilla chips and salsa.  OK, I’m going to go all “Yelp” on you now:

The Food – The chips were OK, but unremarkable.  The salsa was OK, also unremarkable.  The fish tacos would have been one hell of a lot better if they would have made them with hechas a mano corn tortillas instead of store-bought flour (wheat) tortillas.  Come on, it’s Las Vegas!!!  We have tortillaria’s EVERYWHERE.  And guess what?  Some of them even DELIVER!  The fish and toppings were nice, though.

The Service – If I had to rate the service we received, I would say that she took our drink and food order and she delivered our drinks and food. On a scale of zero to no personality, I would rate our servers personality was somewhere between ‘wet blanket’ and ‘here’s 50 cents.  buy some personality’.  And with that, I paid with exact change.  Phone it in = no tip for you!

To summarize – I get it, and I should have known better.  It’s a bar that has girls dressed like sexy lumberjacks (if that’s even a thing) and I should have had lower food expectations.  But fish tacos with flour tortillas?!?!?  Really?!?!?!  I’m having a total Dirty Harry moment.  Click here to see what I mean.

2:00 PM.  Snack.  So I’m really hungry from eating a crap lunch – lots of filler, little protein.  I made my way back home and had some of yesterday’s leftover Cracklin’ chicken and some plantain chips.  I’m feeling a lot better now.

Snack 3_25_16

Fully Compliant

5:00 PM.  Dinner.  We went out and went all-out at a nice little deli called The Bagel Café.  Yep.  It’s a winner!  I had a killer pastrami and Swiss sandwich on marbled rye, a pickle and some cucumber salad.  I won’t tell you about the custard filled éclair I had for dessert, nor will I show you a picture of it, because that’s just plain mean.  But here’s the sandwich:

Dinner 3_25_16

I don’t think this qualifies as being compliant, paleo or eating clean, either.

Whole30 Observation:  Out of all of the ‘crimes against the program’ that I have committed today, tomorrow I will regret the wheat (gluten) the most.  The 3 tortillas and 2 big slices of bread will play havoc with me, and I am prepared to deal with that.  I’m not saying that I won’t be complaining about it, but I will be prepared for it!

10:30 PM.  Targeted bed time.  pshaw.  More like 6:45 PM if I make it that far.  Carb Crash Alert!

And so goes Step Four: Life After Your Whole30.  Today was a good day.  Mostly.

Return to Life 51 Days After My Whole30 or Continue to Life 53 Days After My Whole30

Relive my adventure from Day 1.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Life 52 Days After My Whole30

  1. Pingback: Life 53 Days After My Whole30 | funwithrickandjane

  2. Pingback: Life 51 Days After My Whole30 | funwithrickandjane

Leave a Reply

