Whole30

Life 39 Days After My Whole30

Saturday, March 12, 2016. Whole30 plus 39 days of Clean Eating.  Mostly.

Yesterday I went rogue momentarily.  But that’s all subjective, as they say.  Corn tortillas.  Ingredients:  Corn, water and lime.  I guess it may still qualify as Eating Clean, although it doesn’t meet the Whole30 or Paleo criteria.  But it did meet the delicious criteria.  And again, no guilt.  But I am spending waaay too much time trying to justify eating this, so I’ll move on now!

Let’s see how we did today…

6:00 AM.  Jane’s alarm.  She has an early up & out, volunteering with C5 this morning.

Here’s a video of what Jane does out in the Nevada desert.  Follow this link:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pk7yqlTMvp8.  In the meantime, I’m sleeping in.

6:20 AM.  I didn’t realize the city had opened a new Dog Park IN OUR BEDROOM!  2 Golden Retrievers think I should be at the bottom of a live action dog pile.  yay.  2 cups of black coffee.

8:00 AM.  Breakfast.  4 slices of US Wellness bacon, a medium potato and 3 eggs sunny side up.  Sort of.  It sounded like a good idea at the time.  I wish they looked as good as they sounded.  Still tasty, though:

BFast 3_12_16

Fully Compliant

What’s up with that one yolk at 3 o’clock?  I made a delicious bacon house for my eggs and potatoes.

I’m back to the green Jasmine tea.  I’m glad I don’t get bored easily.  Still liking this tea a lot.

12:00 Noon.  Lunch.  2 Aidells Chicken and Apple sausages, fresh pineapple and yellow mustard kind of flung around on top.

Lunch 3_12_16

Fully Compliant

I butterfly cut the sausages and placed them cut-side down in a shallow pan with more than enough water to cover the bottom, and threw the pineapple chunks in with the sausages.  I covered the pan and heated everything on high for five minutes.  The water kept everything from caramelizing and burning, and the pineapple chunks got nice and hot.  My mouth said Aloha and my belly said Mahalo.

I participated on foraging trips 2 and 3 today, respectively.  Jane flew solo on the big hunt and gather when she had finished cat wrangling, and I joined her for bartering at the Mega WalMart SuperCenter (Dog food.  Literally.  For our dogs.) and Sam’s Club for the lettuce that we like.  They’re side by side, so no big deal.  Our second outpost adventure was to do some trading with Joe at Trader Joe’s.

3:00 PM.  Snack.  I poured a double shot and threw in some steamed almond milk to make a tasty latte, some of our homemade beef jerky and a honey crisp apple:

Snack 3_12_16

Fully Compliant

OK, so if you zoom in and look to the right side of the apple, you’ll see THE STICKER.  Anybody besides me ever forget to peel these off, and accidentally eat one or cook one? Seriously, when did this become a thing, putting stickers on fruits and vegetables?  At least the ones they put on apples can be peeled off.  Tomato stickers, on the other hand, are a whole different story…

Took the dogs for a walk.  I thought that would be worth mentioning.

6:30 PM.  Dinner. A beautiful ribeye steak, shrimp with Old Bay and olive oil all cooked on the outdoor grill, and a baked potato with organic sour cream and organic butter:

Dinner 3_12_16

Eating Clean.  Non-Compliant, Non-Paleo

I’ll go with clean eating, though.  I chased my meal down with white tea that I carbonated with the SodaStream.  I would like to thank PublicUs Las Vegas for introducing me to this wonderful drink.

Whole30 Observation:  I did the Whole30 for 30 days (duh), and I did have dairy one day during reintroduction, once on Valentines Day (at In-N-Out Burger), and again today with the all organic stuff on my baked potato.  That’s all I can remember, although the blog may say different.  Not bad for the last 39 days, I would say!  OK, in the spirit of keeping it honest, there is a bar of chocolate in the fridge with my name on it that just might get eaten by me later on tonight.  We’ll see.

11:00 PM.  Projected bed time.

And so goes Step Four: Life After Your Whole30

Return to Life 38 Days After My Whole30 or Continue to Life 40 Days After My Whole30

Relive my adventure from Day 1.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Life 39 Days After My Whole30

  1. Pingback: Life 40 Days After My Whole30 | funwithrickandjane

  2. Pingback: Life 38 Days After My Whole30 | funwithrickandjane

Leave a Reply

