Whole30

Life 38 Days After My Whole30

Friday, March 11, 2016. Whole30 plus 38 days of Clean Eating.  Mostly.  Let’s see how we did today…

4:15 AM.  Alarm.  Another good sleep.  Feeling even better today than yesterday.  I think I shook whatever was ailing me.  2 cups of black coffee.

5:45 AM.  Breakfast.  This is going to sound real familiar if you’ve been keeping track:  I had some pre-made butternut squash, white and orange sweet potatoes and ground beef hash;  veggie mix of yellow squash, zucchini, red and green bell peppers, and mushrooms; scrambled that with a half cup of Allwhites egg whites; and  2 US Wellness Meats sausage patties. That was the last of the sausage patties.  You served me well and will truly be missed.  I also had half an avocado on the side, and sprinkled some bee pollen on my scramble.  I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – I’m not bothered about eating the same breakfast, because it’s super good:

Breakfast 3_11_16

Fully Compliant

My tea of choice for this week has been green Jasmine.  I have so much of this tea, and it’s pretty good, so I might even continue a few more days with it.

So my Day In Food pretty much takes a turn for the worse from here…

10:00 AM.  Snack.  I have lots of stops to make, so I’m eating my carrots and celery.

11:30 AM.  Meet one of the crews at Del TacoNaugles back in the day…  So, now I’m obsessing with tacos.  I didn’t cave.

Lots more running around, stopping at jobs, change orders, vendor visits, dropping off payroll, post office on a Friday afternoon…

3:00 PM.  Apple slices.

4:30 PM.  Done.  Back home.  Lunch.  Finally.  I’m sooo glad that the weather is nice and not too hot, and that the ice packs in my cooler made it through the day.  My green salad with grilled chicken and avocado was still nicely chilled and ready for consumption:

Lunch 3_11_16

Fully Compliant

Whole30 Observation:  I forgot to mention this yesterday, and I will call this a “Woe Is Me” moment – So I was at the dentist a couple weeks ago and he tells my that I have a cracked crown and it needs to be replaced.  Oh, hell, now I’m going to get sidetracked and digress all over this piece.  Please stay with me, because there will be a point here eventually.  Did I ever mention how much I absolutely loathe McDonalds?  I may have.  So years ago I was eating a nasty-ass McDonalds cheeseburger, and I fractured a molar while chewing on this bone-laden piece of USDA Grade D Pink Slime Ammonia Filled Simulated Beef product.  I guess if it was a little slimier, I wouldn’t have broken my tooth in the first place.  ANYWAY, I actually already have an appointment on Monday to replace the crown. But of course, I finish the crack in the crown lengthwise, and half is still firmly attached to my tooth, and the other half is now in a plastic baggie sitting on the table, and my dentist is closed on Fridays.  It took me over an hour to eat this salad, chewing on only 1 side.  So, weight loss tip, Whole30-ers.  Break a tooth…  Or as Jane would say, “Get the flu, lose 5 pounds.  Bonus.”

5:00 PM.  Coffee Break.  Seriously.  It’s taking so long to eat this salad, I’m stopping for a double shot.  Jane picked up a pound of Desert Wind Espresso Blend.  Pretty tasty Arabica beans.

Snack 3_11_16

Fully Compliant

7:00 PM.  Dinner.  Grilled chicken, Mexican cauliflower rice, avocado, and corn tortillas.

Dinner 3_11_16

Non-Compliant Non-Gluten Grain

Corn tortillas with dinner.  No Guilt.

9:00 PM.  Targeted bed time.

And so goes Step Four: Life After Your Whole30

Return to Life 37 Days After My Whole30 or Continue to Life Day 39 Days After My Whole30

Relive my adventure from Day 1.

Standard

4 thoughts on “Life 38 Days After My Whole30

  1. Pingback: Life 39 Days After My Whole30 | funwithrickandjane

  2. Heather Wolfe says:

    I’m doing my first whole 30 and your blog has been inspiring – thank you! Would you be willing to share your recipe for the Thai meatballs and sauce that you rave about?

    Like

    • Hi Heather! I hope you like this as much as I do. Jane got this recipe originally from Pinterest, so I have to give credit where credit is due:
      http://ifoodreal.com/30-minute-clean-thai-turkey-zucchini-meatballs/

      Ingredients

      For Meatballs:
      2 lbs ground turkey, extra lean
      ***We prefer ground chicken
      1 cup zucchini, shredded & liquid squeezed out
      1 tbsp fish sauce
      ***Red Boat is Whole30 compliant
      1/4 cup green onions, finely chopped
      2 tbsp basil, finely chopped
      2 tsp ginger, grated
      2 garlic cloves, grated
      1 tsp red curry paste
      2 tbsp coconut milk, light (canned)
      1/8 tsp hot pepper chill flakes
      Cooking spray (I use Misto) ***we don’t use any

      For the Sauce:
      1 + 1/2 cup coconut milk, light (canned)
      3 tbsp tomato paste
      1 tsp red curry paste
      1 tsp fish sauce
      1/8 tsp hot pepper chili flakes, or to taste
      5-6 kaffir lime leaves (optional)

      Directions
      1.In a medium bowl, combine ingredients for meatballs, mix with your hands thoroughly. Make 28 meatballs by spooning heaping 1 tbsp of mixture and rolling between your hands. Lay on a cutting board or plate. Set aside.
      2.In a small bowl, whisk together sauce ingredients and set aside.
      3.Preheat large, 12″ or larger, skillet on high, spray with cooking spray. Add meatballs and cook until brown, for about 2-3 minutes. No need to cook the meatballs through. Add the sauce, reduce heat to medium and simmer for 15 minutes, uncovered. Serve warm with brown rice or brown rice noodles. Add garnish like fresh cilantro and green onions.
      ***we serve ours over cauliflower rice.
      Enjoy!!! Thanks, Rick

      Like

  3. Pingback: Life 37 Days After My Whole30 | funwithrickandjane

Leave a Reply

