Whole30

Life 37 Days After My Whole30

Thursday, March 10, 2016. Whole30 plus 37 days of Clean Eating.  Mostly.  Let’s see how we did today…

4:15 AM.  Alarm.  Solid sleep.  Feeling much better this morning.  I hope this cold/allergy thing has finally run its course.  2 cups of black coffee.

5:45 AM.  Breakfast.  Repeat from Monday, Tuesday and yesterday :  Pre-made butternut squash, white and orange sweet potatoes and ground beef hash;  veggie mix of yellow squash, zucchini, red and green bell peppers, and mushrooms; scrambled that with a half cup of Allwhites egg whites; and  2 US Wellness Meats sausage patties. I had half an avocado on the side, and sprinkled some bee pollen on my hash.  Again, this continued to be my breakfast for today, as well as the entire week.  Seriously, I’m not bothered about eating the same breakfast, because it’s really tasty:

BFast 3_10_16

Fully Compliant

Again, I made a big mug of green Jasmine tea, which is my tea of choice for this week, for the drive in.  Actually, I had to drive to The Township of Pahrump this morning to do a final walkthrough on a job.  Lovely drive, lovely weather, lovely people, lovely green tea.

1:00 PM.  Lunch.  I tore through my big green salad, grilled chicken breast and avocado like I hadn’t eaten since 5:45 AM.  Which I hadn’t.  The trip to and from Pahrump took a little longer than anticipated (a little construction and a lot of NHP on the road), but not a problem.  Big mistake going back to the office, though.  It took me over an hour to eat my salad due to phone calls and people dropping in!

Lunch 3_10_16

Fully Compliant

Whole30 Observation:  It really wasn’t that long ago that I would be pretty angry if I missed lunch by an hour.  Much less 2.  I mean, today I was hungry and everything, but not OMG I’m Going To Lose My Mind hungry.

Whole30 Observation Number Two: (No pun intended.  Well, maybe…)  Gas.  Upper and lower.  You get my drift.  (What?  Is today bad pun day?) Virtually non-existent.  Period.  So everybody wins!  I can’t remember the last time I had gas.  Don’t ask me why I’m thinking about that…

Whole30 Observation Number Three:  Thinking back, maybe I can remember the last time I had “stomach issues”.  It was when we were having pork belly with our breakfast, and one day it just didn’t agree with me.  I carried the feeling all day, and when it came to bed time, I was still Rumbly in my Tumbly, as Winnie the Pooh would say.  (See, I did it again. Pooh=Poo. I’ll never grow up!!!).  But not rumbly in a fun way.  It was in a “I think I’m Going To Be Sick” way.  So I got out of bed and took a few Rolaids or Tums or Rennies (my father-in-law leaves these behind after he visits), and get back into bed.  Now my mind is racing because of the whole Whole30 – OMG What Have I Done?  What Do Those Contain?  Is There Any Sugar?  Are They Compliant?  Do I Have To Reset Back To Day 1?  Jane tells me to shut the hell up, stop moving around, and go to sleep.

4:00 PM.  Getting my snack on!  A double shot of espresso, a  sliced honey crisp apple and 2 kinds of homemade beef jerky.  Again.  Getting low on the jerky.  Might have to turn out some more over the weekend.

Snack 3_10_16

Fully Compliant

6:30 PM.  Dinner.  Protein-style hamburgers with white sweet potato baked fries.  Absolutely delicious!  Lean 93/7 ground beef, with fresh veggies and a little bit of compliant yellow mustard.  Again, dee-licious!

Dinner 3_10_16

Fully Compliant

 

No, this wasn’t a SWYPO moment.  This was a legit planned meal.  So there!

9:00 PM.  Targeted bed time.

And so goes Step Four: Life After Your Whole30

Return to Life 36 Days After My Whole30 or Continue to Life 38 Days After My Whole30

Relive my adventure from Day 1.

Standard

8 thoughts on “Life 37 Days After My Whole30

  1. Pingback: Life 38 Days After My Whole30 | funwithrickandjane

  2. Annett says:

    I really like your food log. I am very impressed with your dedication and your stamina. I am actually thinking about starting my own hoping that will keep me more accountable on my next Whole30 adventure. I have just finished my not so perfect second round. I am interested in reading more about your successes. I know you are sleeping better, don’t get hangry or experience that 2pm low anymore. I remember that you wrote about your weight gain after quitting smoking and that you started your Whole30 with the Intention of working on that weight gain. How did that work out for you? Thanks Annett

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Annett. Thanks for your kind words. Being held accountable for my actions buy keeping a food diary worked (or is working) well for me. Plus, I can record what I’m feeling and when. That’s why I put my timeline side by side with the Whole30 timeline originally. I’m glad you finished your second Whole30, hopefully it wasn’t too imperfect. And I say that with all humor intended. I know as well as you do that it’s not easy to do. I’ll share with you some of my successes that I might not have blogged about very much. Thanks for asking, by the way. The weight gained after quitting smoking is gone. That was close to 20 pounds. And I carry all of my excess weight in my belly and face. To be honest, I’m trying to drop another 20. Everybody has noticed and commented, and that feels really good. So here are a couple of successes for me: Not to bore you with health woes, but 12 years ago I was diagnosed and began treatment for rheumatoid arthritis -shoulders, hands and knees. If I only knew then what I know now! I firmly believe that clean eating has vastly improved that condition – aches and pains and creeky-ness in the mornings are gone. I get up from a low chair or couch and don’t do the ‘ugh’ noises anymore, so that’s weight loss and a lot less joint pain. Next, I really like coffee, and I have a new found appreciation for the flavor of coffee. I was hitting Starbucks way too often. So I got that monkey off my back with no more mocha caramel frappe you name it. I’m not saying I’ll never treat myself to Starbucks ever again, but it will be a treat and not a 3-4 times a week occurrence. I consider that a success! And, the number one success gained is the power to say “NO” to things I know I shouldn’t eat and have no need whatsoever to explain myself to anyone or reason it away. And if I stay close to eating clean as much as I can, and am honest with myself, if I do decide to have an occasional treat, I’ll have it without any guilt/shame/remorse. So my blog has been running 67 days now, and I have had very few rogue moments. Hopefully I can keep it that way! So for me, I think my blog diary was a good idea for keeping me in check. I hope this wasn’t too long and kind of answered your question!!!!
      Thanks, Rick

      Like

  3. Pingback: Life 36 Days After My Whole30 | funwithrickandjane

Leave a Reply

