Whole30

Whole 30 Observations Day 59

Day 59.  March 2, 2016.

STEP FOUR: LIFE AFTER YOUR WHOLE30

4:00 AM.  Jane’s alarm.  Jane and Jazzy, our new (rescue) Golden Retriever, are going to join me and Bandit (the O.G. – Original Golden) on our walk this morning.  Decided to add 15 minutes to our start time so Jazzy can get acquainted with the neighborhood smells.  The Golden Retriever Rescue of Southern Nevada does a great service to the community.

Back home.  2 cups of black coffee.

5:45 AM.  Breakfast.  An encore performance of yesterday’s breakfast – 2 slices of bacon, butternut squash and white sweet potato ground beef hash, and a scramble made with summer squash, zucchini red and green bell peppers and mushrooms, scrambled with a half cup of egg whites, topped with a little bee pollenand half an avocado.

BFast 3_2_16

Made a big travel mug of Wulu green tea to enjoy on the way to the Doctor’s office after the kid dropped himself off at school.

***Giant Paragraph Alert***

Whole30 Observation:  One (of the many) benefits often mentioned during Whole30 discussions goes a little something like “and my sinuses cleared up, too!”  Not me.  Bummer.  As I mentioned before, I had a sinus infection last Spring (2015).  I honestly can’t remember having a sinus infection since I was in my teens, which was far more years ago than I care to count.  OK, so after the sinus infection last spring, I felt like I never fully “recovered” and I was always congested or I had post nasal drip or sinus pressure or something.  Next logical course of action, and I waited WAY TOO LONG to do this, was to quit smoking.  So I quit smoking.  And the congestion and sinus pressure didn’t go away.  But that annoying little cough DID go away.  So bonus for me, and bonus for the people who live and work around me because they didn’t have to listen to that ‘ahem’…wait 10 minutes…’ahem’…wait 10 minutes…’ahem’…you get it.  Next, quit smoking = gain weight.  Truth.  Anyway, Jane and her bestie (lol) knocked out a Whole30 – they timed it to end before Thanksgiving – (they may be blonde but they’re not dumb!) and they both really liked the program.  After I read the book, I/we decided to give it a go in the new year.  I made it through the program, no problem.  Did I, me personally, get the benefit of sinus relief?  Nope!  Bummer.  This brings me to the Doctor’s Appointment today – Acupuncture.  I’m trying to get the sinus issues solved without the use of any drugs.  So in reverse order so far it’s Acupuncture, Bee Pollen, Whole30, Braggs Apple Cider Vinegar, Quit Smoking and back to the  Antibiotics.  I’ll let you know if there are any positive results.  I really wish I had taken a selfie (guys don’t take selfies) when I had the needle sticking out of the top of my head and the one right between my eyes at the top of my nose.  Hilarious.  They also did 4 other spots with the long needles, as well as 5 auricular needles in each ear.  They leave these in.  They said they would fall out on their own in a couple of weeks:

Auricular

Not My Finger.

You kind of forget about these and go to scratch inside your ear and it’s “What the…?”  As in “Ouch!”  Anyway, I’ll let you know if anything positive comes from this.  Just in case you can’t tell, I’ve never tried acupuncture before.

 

11:00 AM.  Lunch.  Chicken breast and avocado groovin’ atop a green salad:

Lunch 3_2_16

4:00 PM.  Snack.  Stopped in to Sambalatte for a cup of house coffee, black.  Chewed on my apple slices during the drive home afterwards.

6:00 PM.  Dinner.  Roasted Pork Shoulder, diced potatoes cooked in ghee, and green beans.

Dinner 3_2_16

This is actually a picture of some leftovers on a smaller side plate.  In my excitement to stuff dinner into my face, I forgot to take a picture of my actual dinner plate!

9:00.  Bed.

Return to Day 58 or Continue to Day 60

Relive my adventure from Day 1.

Standard

4 thoughts on “Whole 30 Observations Day 59

  1. My only comments is Rick, you are hilarious. I finished my R1 of W30 a little later in February and live in Canada so bear that in mind but I have never found Almond milk without an additive in Melissa’s list of additives to avoid.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Whole 30 Observations Day 60 | funwithrickandjane

  3. Pingback: Whole 30 Observations Day 58 | funwithrickandjane

Leave a Reply

