Whole30

Whole 30 Observations Day 56

Day 56.  February 28, 2016.

STEP FOUR: LIFE AFTER YOUR WHOLE30

5:30 AM.  Alarm.  Awake.  1 cup of black coffee.  My  turn to drop the kid off at work.

Whole30 Observation:  I feel fine this morning.  No payback from Friday’s shenanigans, or the off-program choice I made last night.

6:00 AM.  Simulate 7.0 earthquake to get the boy out of bed.

6:05 AM.  Informed by Jane (earthquake must have woke her up) that barista boy has a 6:30 AM start time, and not 7:00 AM.  D’oh!  Shake and Bake…Out the door we go.

7:00 AM.  Breakfast.  US Wellness bacon, 3 over easy eggs, and fried potatoes.  I topped the potatoes with a zucchini, mushrooms and yellow squash medley, after the picture, as well as the little dose of bee pollen that I’ve been having.

BFast 2_28_16

I made myself a giant mug of green tea.  Today’s tea is brought to you by World Market and is called Wulu Loose Leaf Green Tea.  This is some good tea!

12:30.  Snack time.  I wasn’t sure if I wanted lunch or not, so I had an apple of the Honey Crisp variety, some home made beef jerky, and a cappuccino with almond milk.

Snack 2_28_16

The jerky on the left is the latest batch of ground beef jerky.  We used 93/7 this time, and I cut the amount of spices in half for a more tolerable level of heat.

We’re starting to get this jerky thing dialed in.  Again, the Nesco dehydrator has already paid for itself!

Whole30 Observation:  When we were out shopping yesterday, we (again*) looked for dried fruit with no sugar added, and couldn’t find any.  We also looked at all of the different jerky and meat snack products, and couldn’t find any that didn’t contain any sugar, or variation thereof, along with not containing the many other ingredients we don’t want.  And here’s another eye-opener – figure spending just over a dollar per ounce for the finished product when you buy manufactured non-compliant jerky.  We’re getting roughly 50% net yield per pound of beef making jerky at home using flank or top round, and even when using lean ground beef.  I know we’re not using $8/lb meat to make jerky, and call me crazy, but I’m guessing the big meat snack companies, who are buying their cuts by the truckload, aren’t spending that much per pound either!

*Albert Einstein (and many others) get credit for defining insanity as “Doing the same thing over and over, but expecting different results”

4:30 PM.  Dinner.  Too late for lunch, I guess.  We had Thai turkey meatballs over cauliflower rice.  This dish is super tasty and remains on of my favorites:

Dinner 2_28_16

Whole30 Observation:  I’m probably going to be hungry again in a couple of hours.  I’ll deal with it.

OK, I’ll finish and publish this early today/tonight.  We have a couple of things we’re planning on watching tonight without interruptions!  I’m not talking about the Academy Awards, and if you’re into that, cool.  The main thing we’re watching is the east coast feed of The Walking Dead. yay!

9:00 PM.  That’s what time I’m going to try to be in bed.  Monday tomorrow.

Return to Day 55 or Continue to Day 57

Relive my adventure from Day 1.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Whole 30 Observations Day 56

  1. Pingback: Whole 30 Observations Day 57 | funwithrickandjane

  2. Pingback: Whole 30 Observations Day 55 | funwithrickandjane

Leave a Reply

