Whole30

Whole 30 Observations Day 52

Day 52.  February 24, 2016.

STEP FOUR: LIFE AFTER YOUR WHOLE30

4:15 AM.  Alarm.  2 cups of black coffee.

5:45 AM.  Breakfast.  As with Monday and Tuesday, I had a breakfast scramble with compliant breakfast sausage and tons of veggies – yellow squash, zucchini, red and green bell peppers and mushrooms, scrambled in with 1 real egg and 1 eggbeaters cup, and half an avocado.  The eggs were topped with pico de gallo:

BFast 2_24_16

Today I started adding some local bee pollen to my morning repertoire.  I’m using Annsley Naturals Southwest 100% Raw Local Desert Pollen. I threw it on top of my eggs at breakfast.  The stuff tastes really interesting, but not in a bad way.  I’m trying this approach, along with Bragg’s Apple Cider Vinegar,  to see if the sinuses want to stop acting up.  I had a sinus infection last summer.  First one I’ve had in easily 20 years.  Since I went through that round of antibiotics, it seems like I’m more congested and get more headaches than ever.  So I’d rather look at other means to see if that helps before reaching for some sort of pill.

Another jumbo mug of white tea for the road.

11:00 AM.  Lunch.  A tasty green salad topped with half an avocado and a baked chicken breast, home made oil and vinegar dressing:

Lunch 2_24_16

Whole30 Observation:  At 11:00 AM it hit me from out of nowhere how hungry I was!  So since I’m at my desk, I decided to do a little reading-up on white rice, simple carbs, complex carbs and the glycemic index, as well as a little refresher on fiber.  Do I blame the white rice from last night for the sudden onslaught of hunger today?  Maybe…

4:00 PM.  Snacks.  A big latté.  That’s a double shot of espresso and steamed almond milk.  I also hade 2 kinds of home made beef jerky and apple slices.

Snacks 2_24_`6

Whole30 Observation:   Today so far looks a lot like yesterday!  I just spoke with Jane, and it’s not albondigas tonight, instead it will be Cracklin’ Chicken.  So I guess it won’t be Groundhog Day after all.

6:00 PM.  Dinner.  Cracklin’ Chicken (Pinterest, Nom Nom Paleo, Michelle Tam), green beans and roasted red potatoes.  Another hit.  I could probably eat a plate of these thighs by themselves.  But we know that wouldn’t be right.

Dinner 2_24_16

Whole30 Observation:  Today is Day 52 of Whole 30 and Clean Eating.  It’s also the first time I used the word Paleo in my blog.  Our promise to Melissa and Dallas is that we will try our best to never go into the “Paleo Pop-Tarts” zone.  If you don’t get this reference, go back to the Whole30 Rules and re-read the bullet about “Do not try to re-create baked goods, junk foods, or treats with “approved” ingredients.”

9:00 PM.  Time for bed.  Up early (as usual) tomorrow.

Return to Day 51 or Continue to Day 53

Relive my adventure from Day 1.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Whole 30 Observations Day 52

  1. Pingback: Whole 30 Observations Day 53 | funwithrickandjane

  2. Pingback: Whole 30 Observations Day 51 | funwithrickandjane

Leave a Reply

