Whole30

Whole 30 Observations Day 37

Day 37.  February 9, 2016.  STEP TWO: REINTRODUCTION Day 7

4:10 AM.  5 minutes before the alarm.  2 cups of black coffee.

BFast 2_9_16

5:45 AM.  Breakfast.  3 mini frittatas filled with bacon, red and Ortega peppers, and topped with cheese(!!!); ground beef hash and half an avocado; and a measured cup of Lifeway Blueberry Low Fat Kefir.  Brewed up some white tea, extra strong, to bring to work with me today.

Whole30 Observation:  Today is the day I reintroduce Dairy into my diet.  I was pretty excited about the cheese this morning.  Everything’s better with Cheddar! *hits the Kefir Infobrakes* My observation?  Who knew that it wouldn’t be that great.  I mean, it was good and everything, but it wasn’t great.  Could there be a minor addiction that has been defeated?  A Cheese Dragon that was slayed, if you will.  We shall see…

Whole30 Observation:  The Kefir was delicious!  HOWEVER, this was my first “sugar added” product since we started the Whole30.  Let’s take a step back now and read the label.  *deep sigh*  I’m not bashing the product, though, because it is really tasty.  But jeez, 20 grams of sugar is equal to almost 5 teaspoons.  But hey, it’s Low Fat, right?

OK, so let’s take another step back for a minute.  Maybe somebody reading this can help me with the math or tell me that I’m looking at this the wrong way.  Today IS dairy reintroduction for me, right?  I also have some Vitamin D Whole Milk sitting in the fridge so I can make myself a latte when I get home from work tonight.  So the MILK label says Ingredients:  Milk, Vitamin D3 added, and the nutrition label says Sugars – 11 grams per cup.  So am I to assume that KEFIR, as a dairy product, contains 11 grams of natural Sugars per cup and has 9 grams added sugar, or just over 2 teaspoons added sugar per 1 cup serving?  Also, Whole30-ers, am I to expect a little baby sugar hangover in the next couple of days?

Lunch 2_9_16

11:00 AM.  Lunch.  Another delicious green salad with chicken and avocado.  Jane threw in some baby spinach today, which is one of my favorites.  And kale.  Stupid kale.  The dressing was different, too.  Different in the good kind of way, not the  “What the heck was that?” kind of way.

Afternoon driving around, chomping down on some carrots and celery between checking out jobs.

Latte 2_9_16

4:00 PM.  Back home.  Made myself my first real whole milk latte in 37 days.  You ever get to laughing so hard when you’re messing up, that it just doesn’t matter and you keep messing it up anyway?  Yep, that’s my fantastic latte art.  Or in my case, “Latte Aren’t”.  If you close your eyes, it tastes just like a $6 cup o’ coffee.  Jane says my pull-pour-push skills have improved considerably, but don’t quit the day job.  I do detect some sarcasm.  Anyway, nice cup of coffee with my apples, so life is good!

Dinner 2_9_167:00 PM.  Dinner.  Flank steak, fresh green beans and mutant baked potato with butter and sour cream.  Potato was mutant due to the fact that it took over 2 hours to cook.  What’s up with that?  So again, the dairy thing – butter and sour cream was definitely the No.1 hit of the day.

So now it’s back to the Whole30 program clean eating for the next couple of days, and then the nastiness of GLUTEN on Friday.  I pretty much have Friday mapped out already – I’ll have toast with breakfast in the morning, salad with a side of tuna and saltine crackers for lunch, and eggplant and pasta with sauce for dinner.

Whole30 Observation:  Today I reintroduced Dairy into my diet.  Cheddar cheese, Kefir, Whole Milk, Butter and Sour Cream.  If I’m lactose intolerant, I’ll know about it before midnight.  Yes, I realize I went waaaay overboard with the dairy…

Whole30 Observation:  Probiotics during the Whole30 – GT’s Kombucha and Bragg’s Apple Cider Vinegar as a kicker I think kept me on an even keel; and today the addition of Kefir.  We’ll continue to shop for a yoghurt that meets our criteria, even though I’m still kind of on the fence as far as probiotics are concerned.  They can’t hurt, right?

9:00 PM.  Targeted bedtime.

Return to Day 36 or Continue to Day 38

Standard

2 thoughts on “Whole 30 Observations Day 37

  1. Pingback: Whole 30 Observations Day 38 | funwithrickandjane

  2. Pingback: Whole 30 Observations Day 36 | funwithrickandjane

Leave a Reply

