Whole30

Whole30 Observations Day 24

Day 24.  January 27, 2016.  “Tiger Blood” post 9

4:15 AM.  Awakened by the smooth jams of the alarm clock.  That, is, of course, if you’re into B flat quarter notes at 50 bpm.  2 cups of black coffee.

5:45 AM.  Breakfast of 3 mini frittatas with prosciutto, covered in salsa fresca, ground beef hash, and 1/2 an avocado.  The  Whole30 mission continues!  Another go-cup of green tea for the drive to work.

Bfast 1_27_16.jpg

Frittatas Are Under The Pile of Pico de Gallo

11:00 AM.  Time for some lunch.  Had a nice green salad with 1/2 an avocado, and a side of tuna.  Jane put the tuna together with some home made avocado mayo and it was delicious!  We got the tuna from Costco, but unfortunately I can’t find a link to Kirkland Chunk Light Skipjack Tuna In Water.  Maybe it’s an in-store and not an online thing.  I did stumble across a nice (sort of) “pat on the back” given to Costco from Greenpeace, so I found that kind of encouraging.  Follow this link: http://www.greenpeace.org/usa/costco-announces-sustainable-skipjack-tuna-brand/

 

Salad and Tuna

4:00 PM.  I happily crunched my way through my apples on the drive home.  I was almost as happy about the apples as I was because there wasn’t any traffic or accidents on the freeway!  Got back to the house and made a caffé Americano for myself:

caffe americano

I ground (grinded?) Starbucks espresso roast whole beans for this, and it was pretty darn good.  So my caffé Americano is a double shot of espresso plus 12 oz. of 175 +/- degree F (80C) water.  I got a great kettle for Christmas – It’s a KitchenAid electric kettle that you can specify and hold temperatures, so it’s not just boil or off.  Thing works like a champ!

6:00 PM.  Dinner.  Carnitas, plantain tostadas, and Mexican-style cauliflower rice.  Gotta throw some Pico de Gallo in for good measure.  This was yet another really good meal.  Jane can cook!  Olé!!!

Carnitas

“Tiger Blood” – I will admit that again, I haven’t been ‘hitting the wall’ or doing the crash and burn every day at 2:00 PM, or wanting to ‘just shut my eyes for a minute’ when I get home.  I’ll also say that I have been getting a good night’s sleep every night, as well as falling asleep faster.  Speaking of which—

9:00 PM.   Bed is on the agenda.  Hasta Mañana.

Return to Day 23 or Continue to Day 25

Standard

3 thoughts on “Whole30 Observations Day 24

  1. Pingback: Whole 30 Observations Day 26 | funwithrickandjane

  2. Pingback: Whole30 Observations Day 25 | funwithrickandjane

  3. Pingback: Whole30 Observations | funwithrickandjane

Leave a Reply

