Whole30

Whole30 Observations Day 23

Day 23.  January 26, 2016.  “Tiger Blood” post 8

4:10 AM.  Awake before the alarm by 5 minutes.  2 cups of black coffee.  Looks like one week to go on our Whole30 adventure…  Last night there was much discussion (again) about re-introduction – which food and when.  It’s funny, the more days that go by, the less concerned I am about which food is going to get reintroduced first.  The ‘Thought of the Day’ for today is probably dairy.  My birthday is next month, and I would like to have a baked potato with butter and sour cream with my dinner.  Jane says beer.  That’s her answer and she’s sticking to it.  Like I said, that’s todays thought.  Things will definitely change by day 31 when Jane and I are sitting there going “decisions, decisions…” and she’s cracking a cold one thinking of her next move.

5:45 AM.  Breakfast.  3 mini frittatas with baked prosciutto and topped with pico de gallo, ground beef hash and half an avocado.  Made myself a travel mug full of green tea for the drive to work.

bfast

California Frittatas and California Hash

11:00 AM.  Lunch.  Green salad with chicken and avocado.  Chicken and avocado go so well together.  Turkey and avocado go well together, too.  Anybody notice this, or is this just a western states thing, that whenever you have a salad or burger or whatever, and they add avocado to it, they always call it a California Salad or a California Burger?  So yeah, I really enjoyed my California Chicken Salad for lunch, and I really enjoyed my California Frittatas and my California Hash this morning for breakfast.

lunch salad

California Chicken Salad

Double Shot

4:00 PM.  Ate my apples, as well as my celery and carrots, while I was running around this afternoon and on my drive home.  Pulled a double shot of espresso to sip on after I got back to the house.  Good stuff.  Also tried some Trader Joe’s coconut cream when I got home. Might try some more later whipped up on some pineapple.  It’s good for you, right?  It’s Whole30 compliant, right? nom nom nom

5:30 PM.  Dinner.  Throwing down some “zoodled” spaghetti with meat sauce tonight.  Jane made this same dish a few days back, and it’s earned itself an encore performance.  It’s funny how we’ve been sneaking zucchini in all over the place – zoodle noodles, Thai salad, Thai chicken meatballs, albondigas, etc..  Check out the delicious spaghetti:

Spag

California Zoodle Spaghetti

See what I did there?

9:00 PM.  I’ll be heading to bed.

 

Return to Day 22 or Continue to Day 24

Standard

2 thoughts on “Whole30 Observations Day 23

  1. Pingback: Whole30 Observations | funwithrickandjane

  2. Pingback: Whole 30 Observations | funwithrickandjane

Leave a Reply

