Whole30

Whole30 Observations Day 18

Day 18.  January 21, 2016.  “Tiger Blood” post 3

4:10 AM.  Awake 5 minutes before the alarm.  And I’m in RARE FORM.  Let me fast-forward a minute here – I woke up in a little bit of a bad mood, and it got worse from there.  A really crappy day, by all accounts.  I’m reviewing this whole ‘Whole30‘ program, going back and looking at the Whole30 Timeline, convinced that today is “Kill All Things” day.

5:45 AM.  Breakfast.  3 mini frittatas with pico de gallo, ground beef hash and 1/2 an avocado.  Made a big ol’ travel mug of green tea for the road.

11:00 AM.  Lunch.  Chowed down on a nice green salad with half an avocado and a chicken breast.  Rachel Ray always says “Yum-O” or “Deelish”.  Sounds funny coming from a guy.

4:00 PM.  Drive home.  Celery and carrots.  You know I’m having a crap day when I don’t eat my beloved apples.

FullSizeRender[1]

OK, things are starting to look better! “Keanu”, the movie from Key and Peele, trailer (might not be appropriate for some, so volume down, please) is out and I’m finally laughing at something.  Who doesn’t love a little thugged-up gangsta kitty?  You know this movie is going to be a crack-up!  I should have grease and grain (buttered popcorn) and high fructose colored water (soda) re-introduced by then, so bonus! jk, I’ll probably smuggle something healthy into the megaplex… spend the $$$ saved on theater snacks on a steak.

4:30 PM.  Pulled a double-shot of espresso.  No calories and maybe the caffeine will have a settling effect on me.  Funny how that works sometimes.

6:00 PM.  Gettin’ our grub on!  Having Mahi-mahi again, mango salsa, cauliflower rice and plantain tostadas.  This isn’t leftovers from yesterday, albeit with the addition of the plantains, I prefer to call it an “Encore Performance”.  Jane killed it.  Again.  In case you missed it yesterday, we got the Mahi-mahi at Costco, very reasonably priced, and no STP/STPP, obviously. Anyway, here’s what this wonderful meal looked like:

IMG_0679[1]

Real quick, about the plantains:  Take 2 yellow plantains, chop them up and throw them in the food processor along with a 1/4 cup of melted coconut oil and a teaspoon of salt, puree them, divide into 6 balls, press them out (like small pancakes) (coconut oiled hands do help) on a parchment paper lined baking sheet, bake at 425 for 30 minutes, flip halfway through baking, and eat them.  Jane says “You’re Welcome”.

9:00 PM.  Bed.  Got an early concrete pour tomorrow, and a Doctor’s appointment to finish out the day.  As I said on an earlier post, I didn’t weigh myself when I started the Whole30, so I guess I’ll establish the weight baseline tomorrow…

Return to Day 17 or Continue to Day 19

Standard

2 thoughts on “Whole30 Observations Day 18

  1. Pingback: Whole30 Observations | funwithrickandjane

  2. Pingback: #whole30 observations | funwithrickandjane

Leave a Reply

