Whole30

Whole30 Observations Day 15

Day 15.  January 18, 2015.  “Boundless Energy! Now Give Me A Damn Twinkie!” pt. 4 of 4

4:30 AM.  Do I really gotta get up and pee?!?!

4:45 AM.  Golden Retriever: “Hey, you up?  Let’s hang out!”

5:00 AM.  Moggy the cat: “You should be up!  Mind if a walk on your head?”

7:00 AM.  Can’t believe I actually got back to sleep.  Up.  2 cups of black coffee.

8:00 AM.  Breakfast.  I took 1 potato and sliced it thin with the mandolin, threw in a couple sliced chicken and apple sausages, cooked it all up with 3 eggs.  Another hit!  Had a nice glass of cold white tea to go with it.

Scramble

And that’s what the scramble looked like.

Did some running around again today.  First mission is to get ingredients to make some fresh pico de gallo (salsa fresca) to go with some dishes this week.  It’s great on or in eggs, amongst many other things.  I like it mixed into tuna, believe it or not.  Try it.  More on the tuna in a minute.  We’re so lucky to have a Cardenas market near the house.  Their produce selection, quality and prices are the best in town!  Ended up at Whole Foods again.  Who knew it was so hard to find dehydrated fruit with no sugar added (or other stuff)?  Finally found Peeled Snacks and picked up some dried Mango and a mix called Paradise Found.  Tried them both when we got home, and they will be a welcome addition to our trail mix.  We also picked up some Nutiva Coconut Manna.  Interesting.  In a good way.  Jane like it with dates.

2:30 PM.  Breakfast really held over well.  Time for some lunch.  About that tuna I talked about a minute ago:  Costco has a Kirkland brand Chunk Light Skipjack Tuna In Water that meets all requirements.  Unfortunately, there’s no Costco link for me to put on here, but click here for a great product description.  By the way, it’s delicious!  Had that for my lunch today.  Jane mixed it with home made mayonnaise and a shot of yellow mustard and some onions thrown in.  I chowed down on this using carrots and celery as my chopsticks.  Not really.  I ate the tuna with a fork and had carrots and celery on the side.  Also had a nice “Booch” – GT’s Kombucha Gingerade.  I’m really starting to like this stuff!

“Boundless Energy!  Now Somebody Give Me A Damn Twinkie!” OK, I’ve noticed that I have no problem going to various grocery stores, so that’s kind of amusing.  Still no Twinkie (or anything else, for that matter) crave going on, though.  I lie. When we were in Cardenas (they have a KILLER café in there) I really Really REALLY wanted some chicken enchiladas.  The thought was gone almost immediately.

5:30 PM.  Dinner.  Had a baked potato and chili.  So, speaking of craves and stuff, I do kind of miss beans with chili.  It’s not a deal breaker, though, and I really wouldn’t say it was a crave, per se, but I do miss the beans.  So with dinner I drank a Canada Dry Lemon Lime Sparkling Seltzer Water.  Seriously, $1.99 a 12-pack at Winco.  We bought 3 flavored and 1 plain.  Can’t beat that!

9:00 PM. Bed.  Got an early start tomorrow.

Return to Day 14 or Continue to Day 16

Standard

2 thoughts on “Whole30 Observations Day 15

  1. Pingback: Whole30 Observations Day 16 | funwithrickandjane

  2. Pingback: #whole30 observations | funwithrickandjane

Leave a Reply

