Whole30

Whole30 Observations Day 7

Day 7.  January 10, 2016.  “I Just Want A Nap” pt.2

5:30 AM.  Jane’s alarm goes off.  *snicker* I don’t have to get up!  Jane volunteers with C5, and they have at least 83 “patients” today, so she’s gotta be up and out the door.  I will be able to sleep in super late today.

5:40 AM.  Moggy the cat thinks walking on my head is a lot of fun.

5:50 AM.  Bandit the Golden Retriever is rolling around on the bed expressing his gratitude and appreciation for yet another fabulous meal provided by the alpha.

6:00 AM.  After sleeping in half the day, it’s time to get up.  2 cups of black coffee.

8:00 AM.  Breakfast is 3 mini frittatas and a portion of O’Brien potatoes topped with chili.  Also brewed a travel mug of green jasmine tea.  I’ll give a shout-out to Positively Tea Organic Green Jasmine.  The stuff is really good!  On the agenda today, we shall be doing some prep and cook-up of breakfasts (for me) for the rest of the week.  I’ll be making my frittatas with the addition of some Wellshire bacon.  ummm…bacon… please please please be good.  If not, oh well.  I can live without it.  Good attitude, right?

12:00 Noon.  Just finished pressure cooking a whole chicken.  1.  I want cooked chicken for my lunchtime salads next week, and 2.  I want fresh, home made broth because I’m making albondigas (chicken and beef, it’s KILLER!) tomorrow night.  OK, so I make my broth with the whole chicken (obviously), onion, celery and carrots.  All veggies are chunky sliced.  After 30 minutes under pressure, I cool the pressure cooker, remove the chicken as best as I can because it’s pretty much falling apart, and then pour the stock through a couple different sizes of sieves.  Now let me tell you what’s up – I took all of the cooked carrots and celery (the onions?  who knows where they went?) and the wings (because really, who’s going to strip those for a salad?) and about 8 oz. of the broth and had a nice bowl of soup.  So bonus! Lunch is served!  Also, I mentioned before in a previous post about the Sodastream.  Even for plain water, a little fizz can perk it up!  Anyway, I’m not trying to replace or substitute sodas, but I am making my own delicious drinks.  If you haven’t tried this yet, I highly recommend getting some R.W. Knudsen Just Cranberry Juice (my favorite.  All the other flavors that I have tried run a close 2nd…) and use that for your flavoring in the Sodastream.  You’re welcome!

I Just Want A Nap:  So far, so good!  I didn’t ‘Hit The Wall’ yesterday or today at 2:00 PM, which has been happening for, like, forever.

2:00 PM.  Had a nice cup of black coffee.  Not as a pick me up or anything, but I dropped Barista boy off at work, so I popped on in for a cup.

3:00 PM.  Update:  Just found out C5 performed 270 procedures today.  Keep up the good work!

5:00 PM.  Getting our grub on!  Wings!  That’s right, I said Wings!!!  Don’t get mad, because we weren’t trying to cheat or bend the rules.  OK, so check this out: Rinse and dry your wings, throw about 3/4 cup of Bob’s Red Mill Finely Ground Potato Flour into a zip lock bag along with the seasonings of your choice.  Make sure they’re evenly coated, and place on a rack on a baking tray (the one with the sides).  Do yourself a solid and line that baking tray with foil first.  Cover the wings with cling film and place in the fridge for 4 hours minimum, but no longer that 12 hours.  Cook in a preheated 400 degree oven for about 1 hour and 20 minutes.  Test for doneness.  OK, we all know that Frank’s RedHot is Whole30 compliant, so just heat up a 1/2 cup of Frank’s with 2 tablespoons of ghee and the sauce is done!  Serve the sauce on the side, or take your wings for a spin.  We did half spun and half plain and both were really good.  Now for the Ranch dressing:  In the 2015 Whole30 book, you’ll need to make mayonnaise –  we do the one on page 179, but use  avocado oil in it instead of olive oil, and then head on over to the Ranch dressing recipe on page 316.  Legit. (does anyone say “Legit” anymore, besides Guy Fieri? jk, love the Guy.)  Served with carrots and celery, of course!

9:30.  Bed.  Not tired, but I have to get up early tomorrow.  Monday.  blah.

Return to Day 6 or Continue to Day 8

Standard

2 thoughts on “Whole30 Observations Day 7

  1. Pingback: #whole30 observations | funwithrickandjane

  2. Pingback: #whole30 observations | funwithrickandjane

Leave a Reply

